New RSC member wants to "learn the ways of the sale"

• 1373 posts
    June 1, 2017 7:05 PM PDT

One of our newest members, Peter Wilhelm, wrote:

Hello everyone! My name is Peter and I'm just starting off in radio sales. I graduated this year wth my associates in Radio Broadcasting and through my internship at Regional Radio Group I am hoping to make some good money and learn the ways of the sale. Any beginner's advice is much appreciated; I hope to be apart of my sales team longer than the average turnover! Thank you! 

• 16 posts
    June 2, 2017 7:02 AM PDT

I recommend that you read three books on advertising for every book you read on selling. Become an advertising expert. Become a businessperson who happens to sell Radio advertising rather than a Radio Rep. And have fun. 

• 118 posts
    June 2, 2017 10:20 AM PDT

Don't forget to be human. It goes without saying you need to sell a good product that will work for the client. It goes without saying your knowledge and creativity are important factors in getting the sale. What some miss is being human. When you smile, are open and likable, it truly helps. You need to sincerely want to work for the client's benefit. There's something almost primal in us all where we can detect this. When the attitude is right, it helps in any bumps in the road and it gives the client a personal reason to have a preference to go with you. 

I've always been friendly to everyone, from the receptionist to those below gathering information for the media buyer. I've had receptionists call me when a hard to catch person came in to the office and had some free time. I'd had employees suggust my pitch because I made the effort to be friendly and respectful no matter the person's position.