Have You Super-Served a Customer Today?

• 1373 posts
    November 21, 2020 2:23 PM PST

Have You Super-Served a Customer Today?

by Jay Mitchell, editor and publisher of The Small Market Radio Newsletter

I'm going to tell you a story about customer support that you will not believe. I'm doing this for two reasons. First, when we receive superior customer service, we tend to tell other people about it. Second, this is a great example of a standard of excellence to which you may want to aspire.

The story:

I have been buying Dell computers for probably 25 years or so. I learned early on to include with every computer purchase a subscription to their Pro Support option, which not only covers you in terms of keeping your computer in top condition, but it also confers on you a certain status within the company.

About a year ago, it was time to get a new computer, so I went to Dell and got a quote. I passed this along to a colleague, who, unbeknownst to me, bought the computer from Amazon rather than through Dell directly. He paid about the same amount of money, but did not get the Pro Support.

Almost since the beginning of the life of this computer, I had problems. As a result, Dell replaced the motherboard, the hard drive, the keyboard, the touchpad, and the palm rest. Inasmuch as we only had very basic support, that was about all they were prepared to do, short of sending the computer back for a couple of weeks—which would have put me out of business.

After months and months of this, I paid the extra money for Pro Support, and the world changed immediately. As soon as I talked to a Pro Support technician, explaining all the things that we had done with the computer, he declared that the computer was a lemon and went about processing a replacement.