Forums » Award-winning Radio Ads

Radio Station-Produced Entries for 2009 Radio Mercury Awards - P

• 1114 posts
    June 15, 2009 11:32 AM PDT
    "The Risk of Insult Is the Price of Clarity." - Roy Williams (The Wizard of Ads) OK, so I'm going to take the plunge and post the two commercials I submitted for this year's Radio-Mercury Awards competition (links below). They're not stunningly produced, but I believed the copy was sufficiently engaging (it certainly was from the clients' perspective) to be airworthy, if not competition-worthy. Though, frankly, I'd hoped at least one of them would make it into the finals, even if I didn't expect either of them to win the prize. I have been supporting the Radio-Mercury Awards since 2004, the year I first entered any of my work into competition. I was surprised and humbled when I learned that my submission had won the Radio Station-Produced award that year. But I was also encouraged by it and determined to improve the quality of all my work. The following year I entered 5 or 6 spots; one of them was chosen as a finalist. Each year thereafter I've entered one or two spots, though I will admit that none has been of the caliber of my 2004 entry (which, by the way, is still running on the air as part of a multil-spot campaign for the client, and still producing measurable results for him). Nonetheless, I've thought it important to support radio's premier advertising competition, to continue to raise the bar for our industry and advertisers. On May 21st I received the email from RAB announcing the finalists and immediately noticed, to my great dismay, the absence of any station-produced finalists. A telephone call to Meghan Buonocore at the RMA headquarters confirmed this, and I have to confess, it took me a day or two to come to grips with the judges' decision. As one of the early round judges this year, I had an opportunity to hear what I considered some good examples of station-produced advertising. (Listening to the best of