Talking Price and Frequency

• 118 posts
    August 2, 2019 8:42 AM PDT

While I've been doing radio sales for just over 30 years, I still get stumped. I see this as an easy solution but hard to put in to words. In fact, I retreated to make a battle plan.

I have a client that always spent on the station. They opened a new location in a town about 40 miles away. They're putting the co-op dollars there and don't want to do anything until the next infusion of co-op dollars.

I countered with the need to advertise day after day to maintain and not let a competitor get a leg up. They said they could spend an amount equal to the amount they kick in after co-op pays. If that was $500 with co-op, we're talking $250 they'll be willing to spend. That meant slicing the number of units in half but paying close attention to placement on busier days and prime hours.

I present this and I am told how much advertising the same dollars get them 40 miles away and that it is working in reaching that rather rural county. I'm somewhat berated for offering such a small number of units for the price.

Before I wage battle, I like to learn from the client and hang out in their shoes for a while. Now I know the station 40 miles away has about 50% of the population we do in their primary signal and they are an AM only. They're a good station, mostly live and local with lots of local information. I know this is an apples and oranges thing.

I could have talked price,"You're in business. If they could charge what we do, wouldn't they? And if you pay $2 or $5 or $10, you expect $2, $5 or $10 in return. If we can't deliver $10 in results we couldn't charge $10, could we?"

I could talk population, listeners and all the other things that justify being double the cost. I could make it obvious a kumquat is not a navel orange in respect to radio stations. I could talk personal service, expertise and such.