Jim Williams

• 4 posts
    April 14, 2011 4:32 PM PDT

I happen to run across this website when on google looking for more info on the late great Jim Williams

from Tulsa.   31 years ago WIZM Radio in La Crosse, Wisc. sent me and several other sales reps down

to the week long training.   Too bad at that point no one was allowed to make cassette tapes of the

seminar hours.   But I took quite a few notes.  My sales went up when I got back to La Crosse to WIZM

and my clients.   I wish I could locate some audio cassettes of Jim Williams???   I even looked on ebay

thinking maybe someone found some old cassettes.  He was terrific.  I wish I could of gone back to

Tulsa for a 2nd time.

• 41 posts
    April 15, 2011 4:26 AM PDT
    Wow, finding the Radio Sales Cafe and then seeing someone who knew Jim Williams!! I first attended a session with Jim when I graduated the University of Oklahoma and spent a week with Jim, learning how to do local news. Went to work for Dr. Jeryl "Jay" Smith at KBTC in Houston, MO. Moved to sales in 1974 and began a number of times in Tulsa in the Sales and Sales Manager sessions. I have been trying to find my set of cassettes that were purchased after one of the sessions. I lost stuff in a mini storage one year and am afraid they may have been there, but remain ever hopeful. I did just meet again, Larry Bauer. He was the man who was on the High Control Plan testimonial for that Furniture store you might remember. Larry continues to use most of the system Jim created. I am newly back in radio after being gone thirty years and am trying to get the ole 5 sec Unit Rate card in place. Getting a lot of resistance so it may take awhile.

Anyway, if I should come accross my set of tapes I will certainly let you know.
    Welshmen Never Yield!

David G. Stern
    KKBS 92.7
    Guymon, OK (oh dear, so far from Tulsa!!)
    • 993 posts
    April 15, 2011 1:36 PM PDT

Hi, there, Al -