Field Support By Sales Managers Is Vital

• 193 posts
    September 8, 2013 3:24 PM PDT

There are many reasons why Sales Managers neglect to get out on the street with their Salespeople.  Reporting systems, monitoring, meetings, dealing with problems, and email can easily swallow up the entire day.  Managing the expectations of upper Management seem to take precedent.  The task of getting out from behind your desk in the field with your Salespeople just keeps getting delayed.  Here’s why it needs to become a priority…

Bigstock -Three -Persons -Business -Meeting -365069

Field Support should be one of the top priorities for Sales Managers.  Here's why…

1.  Clients appreciate Management thanking them for their business.

When I was a Sales Manager, it was great to see the look on the client's face when I said that I came out on a call with our Salesperson because I wanted to personally thank them for their business.  Think about it.  When do most clients see a Sales Manager?  When there's a problem or it's time for a renewal with a big rate increase.  What a wonderful way for clients to associate conflict with your face.  Doesn't it make sense for Sales Managers to establish a relationship with clients before they need to get involved?  Wouldn't it make it easier to deal with challenges when they occur based on a pre-established relationship?  I can assure you few of your competitors are using the technique of Sales Managers having regular field presence.  That's even better reason to do it.

2.  Field Support shows your Sales Team that you lead by example.